top of page
Search

30 Day Writing Challenge

So, I came across this challenge on Pinterest, and decided to take it up, as like a 'fun' exercise. It consists of 30 writing prompts. I will be posting them on here in increments of three, so get ready for the next ten posts of absolutely random poems and journal entries. No, but for real, some of them are actually pretty good, so stay tuned. Here are the first three, enjoy!



Day 1: Describe your personality

I'm quirky

I'm not like the others...

I'm also incredibly un-serious,

which explains the first two lines

of this joke

of a poem


But at the same time, I'm too serious

and think too much about

the things no one thinks about

and i cry a lot as well

but i also smile too much


Indecision is my personality trait

or maybe I don't have a personality

I am an absorbent of the individuality around me


Day 2: The things that make me happy

Freedom

Freedom makes me happy. the freedom to live my life as boldly as I dare to; the freedom to be authentically myself without constantly judging myself for never being enough; the freedom to change the world; the freedom to trust God without the shackles of religion and societal misinterpretation; the freedom to write all the days of my life. The freedom to do and be all the things I am, but this world tells me I am not. The things that make me happy, it seems, are the things that I have only tasted but will never fully eat.


Day 3: A Memory

I am half asleep writing this, so excuse me if I'm incoherent. Many memories come to mind, as I brainstorm for this exercise: a time when I hugged my mummy; watching movies with my siblings on a characteristic, hot Sunday afternoon;eating suya; riding a danfo or keke. But this exercise is about one memory, just one of so many.

I remember sitting alone on an airplane, looking out into dark abyss of the sky from my place at the window seat. There were no stars, and the plane was too high to see light, so I couldn't take those aesthetic pictures I see on social media. Plus the window was kinda musty. I remember being extremely excited. I was finally going to college (great); I was going to college in another country (super great). A new place, new culture, new people with which my eyes could be opened to to the wider world around me.

However still, there was a heaviness in my heart, brought about by the uncertainty of if I would see my family in person again in 2 years or 4; the fear that I would not be accepted in the place I was going to; the shock of leaving a place I spent 18 years of my life for somewhere I thought only existed in movies.

I felt like crying. But I didn't at the time.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page