top of page
Search

Set 3 (30 Day Writing Challenge)



Day 7: My Favorite Movie

I have two favorite movies: the little prince and whisper of the heart. Because they both make me cry, and crying makes me happy afterwards.


Day 8: The Power of Music

I want to say that I've heard it somewhere that music is the language of the soul. Or something like that. And it does feel like that sometimes, in our darkest moments, when we are most lonely, even when surrounded, music is the only thing that somehow does not offend us, strips us of our pretense, so that we see ourselves as we are: weak, yet strong; irrelevant, yet worthy; contradictions to our own existence.

And other times, it's not that deep. Sometimes, music feels like a road trip on your way to your favorite theme park with a group of friends. Or the impermanence of youth as you dance in a club or bounce around at a concert. Sometimes, music feels like nothing, as you listen to it on your way to class in order to avoid social interaction.

I don't know if music has power per say. But there is something about it. If it does have power, it is because of its unique dialect in the narration of the human experience.


Day 9: Write About Happiness

I feel like I've written about this already during this exercise. However, I do not blame the 'challenger' for the repetition. Happiness is a very broad emotion. Yet, there are so many poems focused on its exact opposite, such as pain, grief, bondage...

I feel that happiness is too broad to write about. I don't know how to explain it (yet I proceed to), but happiness is not meant to be written about. It's meant to be lived.

There isn't time to write about happiness later on, to reflect, to cry, to confront

It is a gift that one tears open and consumes immediately it is received.

It is a small fire that constantly threatens to go out, but provides enough light to keep the darkness at bay. And always it leaves faster than it arrives. So forgive me when you ask me to write about happiness and I go blank. In the moments I experience it, it is too intense, too fleeting, that I don't focus on technicalities of it to analyze later on.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page