top of page
Search

Set 4 (30 Day Writing Challenge)


Day 10: Your Best Friend

I remember when I was little and strongly denied having a best friend. I would be in a circle of friends during break, our ugly uniforms dancing lightly in the wind, as we gisted and laughed freely about matters we didn't fully understand. The question would come up, "Ezerikhi who's your best friend?" I would huff and puff my chest, proudly stating that I didn't have one.

You see, even at a young age, I had an understanding that having a best friend was an admittance of vulnerability. It meant that I was weak; that someone knew enough about me that they could destroy me, that someone would see me as I am and decide I wasn't worth it. And I couldn't let a person have that much power over me.

I still think like this, unfortunately. But, I am learning that vulnerability is not synonymous with weakness. And weakness is not an absence of strength, but rather an antecedent to it.

Anyways, I have three best friends. I met them in secondary school. They're my best friends, as they are the closest, I believe, I have ever felt to anyone. I love my best friends very much, even though I fear losing them; even though I have already lost some parts of them due to distance and time. And that's okay. It's alright.


Day 11: Talk About Your Siblings

They're quite annoying, but I love them all the same.


Day 12: My Favorite TV Series

I want to say Avatar: The Last Air-bender, but it's trending now, so no. So I'll stick with Gilmore Girls. One, because it's one show I watched in all its entirety, even the mildly disappointing mini series reboot. Two, because of the simplicity with which it expressed life, in all its complexities, messiness, and beauty as well.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page