top of page
Search

Set Five (30 Day Writing Challenge)



Day 13: Favorite Book

Purple hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Reading that book was the first time, for me, in which I saw myself; that is, a young, Nigerian, female, who did not fit a stereotype represented in Literature. Having grown up on mostly western American and European media, it was refreshing to see that I could exist as a fictional character with actual agency. It's a book that greatly inspired me to write about my experiences and opinions authentically, without constantly filtering to fit the western norm; it as well as validated my voice and stories.


Day 14: Describe Your Style

I absolutely adore this prompt, even though it doesn't really inspire me to write. Actually, it tempts me to rush over to a store and waste money on clothes and items that define the style/ aesthetic I am aiming for, which is street, vintage. tomboy, pink, and comfortable (which doesn't really seem like it works together but it does I promise). In present reality, my style is whatever my wallet and frugal disposition can afford.


Day 15: If you could run away, where would you go?

I guess

the question for me,

is not really where I would go

but rather where I am leaving

I mean, that is the hidden message

behind running away;

most of the time:

that where you presently are

is not enough

I want to run away from here

in which 'here' is not a physical place

per say, but more of an entity.

so I could mean a physical place like this world

and I could mean something more abstract

like my state of mind

Either way,

I want to run away from here

Because I am stuck here

where ever here is

I am frozen

and I don't know how to thaw out

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page